MISS! MISS! MISS!

“Stop missing me, I’m right here”

I’m incredibly proud of where I am in my life. I have a job that I love and I am working towards a career that I believe I was born to do. It hasn’t been an easy ride. I was not on this career path for quite a while. I did other things before I had the confidence in myself to do this. I think it’s important to tell your story. Everyone has a story. It’s sharing them that makes us brave and human.

My road to where I am today is wiggly, wobbly and crooked, but I’m here. After getting my A-Levels I worked for a long time in a shoe shop. I was very good at it, I got promoted to supervisor and I was trusted to run the shop on many occasions, helping to run other branches in the area on many occasions. I was maybe 18/19 at this point. Teaching was always in the back of my mind, but I was good at what I was doing at the time and that was enough for me. I quickly realised that this company had high hopes for me, but as the years of being there went on I was growing restless… I wasn’t getting out of the job what I knew I would get out of teaching. I went back to college, to do an childcare qualification. I was at college full time, working pretty much full time hours at the shoe shop and volunteering in school one day a week. I was learning more being in school than I was in college, so I asked to become a distance learner so I could spend time in school during the week and still work at the shoe shop. My year of my childcare qualification was finally over, I passed with a distinction. I heard there was going to be a job at the school I had been volunteering in, the school I went to as a child. I was made up. It was a dream to work in the school that infused me with a love of learning.

I went for the interview. I did shocking. The head teacher told me. I was appalling, I did not interview well. I didn’t get the job. I was heartbroken.

Luckily, a few weeks later the head got back to me and said that there was another position open that I would be perfect for. My months of volunteering did so much more for me than that stupid interview did. I was over the moon. I finally got my foot in the door. That was 7 years ago now. Everyone has always said “you’re too good to just be a TA”, “why aren’t you a teacher?” or “go on, do your teacher training” but I didn’t believe I could do it. So I worked my hardest to be the best TA I could be and then 3 years ago I was promoted to HLTA (I interviewed so much better the second time round!). I love my job. But after a year of being a HLTA I knew something was missing, I knew I was ready for a new challenge… I knew what I had to do. I knew I needed to become a teacher. I knew I was ready.  The whole university process I will blog about later if people want to know, but I applied to uni and here I sit a year later having completed my first year of uni, about to start my second and final year of a degree with a year of SCITT to do. And I am so proud of myself.

I am a teacher. I am a teacher without a stupid piece of paper from the government to say I am a teacher. It is in my blood. It is who I am. This is what I want to do. This is the thing I have been fighting for. This is the thing that I will fight for the rest of my existence for. I believe in teachers, and teaching, and the power of education. 

 

Leave a Reply

