BOOKBLOG: Carrie Hope Fletcher

Beautifully written, heart-warming and made me ugly cry.

Just from the cover you can see that this is a love story. It’s a love story like none other. The premise is ‘Evie Snow has died and her soul is too heavy to pass through to the other side. So she has to rid herself of the secrets that are weighing her down before she gets to go to heaven’.  Being a Hopeful (as Carrie’s fans name themselves) I was so excited when I heard this book was coming out. I didn’t know what to expect, but I knew I needed to read it.

There are things about this book that absolutely resonated with me. I loved the perspective that the story came from. Evie is a loveable female lead in this book. She is everything I think I aim to be. She’s a good soul. She’s the kind of character you want to be your friend, your sister, your mam and your grandma. I completely was Team Evie. I loved the other characters (not all of them, her mam annoyed me… but she was meant to!). They all brought so much, and so appropriately, to the story. None of them were overbearing. But they all had such special parts to play in the whole story. I loved Carrie’s writing style. Everything entwines with everything else to bring a rounded story, to bring you back to where it naturally should be. There are some absolutely incredible quotes which made me wish I had read it on my Kindle (so I could highlight them… I am not going to highlight my book!).

I laughed, I was shocked. I related to things that Evie felt. I related to things that the other characters felt. I ugly cried at the last page. It tugged at my heart strings. I loved it.

The story isn’t something I have read before. The characters I haven’t come across before either. It all worked so well. I could reread it and enjoy it just as much the second time. I will be recommending this to everyone I know now. If you’re not convinced then it’s still half price at Waterstones… so I think you should just buy it anyway!

Have any of you guys read this? What did you think? Were you happy with the ending?

Let me know! Tweet me (@eenalol) or comment below to let me know.

S x

 

Leave a Reply

