BOOKHAUL: The blue edition

So I think book hauls are going to be some of my favourite posts! I am a fan of a book! This month it’s the turn of blue books!image

Here’s a quick synopsis of the 5 blue books above – I will post review posts in the coming weeks… when I’ve managed to read them!

Ned’s Circus of Marvels – Justin Fisher
“N
ed Waddlesworth has always considered his world to be exceptionally ordinary. Until the day he discovers it ISNT. AT ALL. Because on Neds thirteenth birthday he discovers that everything magical hes ever read about or imagined is REAL.And without him, the world will soon be engulfed in monstrous beasts and beings.So with the help of a robot mouse, a girl witch and a flying circus unlike any other, its up to Ned to swoop in and save the day!”

I am so excited to read this. The cover hooked me and when I read the blurb I KNEW I wanted to read it. This is one of those books that I know I am going to get some use out of at school. Good old teaching is an amazing excuse for feeding my reading habit!

The Many Worlds of Albie Bright – Christopher Edge
“When Albie’s mum dies, it’s natural he should wonder where she’s gone. His parents are both scientists and they usually have all the answers. Dad mutters something about Albie’s mum being alive and with them in a parallel universe. So Albie finds a box, his mum’s computer and a rotting banana, and sends himself through time and space to find her…”

This was recommended to me by a friend. I am quite looking forward to picking it up and getting stuck into it. I don’t know that it would be something that I pick up! However I am looking forward to reading something out of my box.

Rebel of the Sands – Alywn Hamilton
Dustwalk is Amani’s home. The desert sand is in her bones. But she wants to escape. More than a want. A need. Then a foreigner with no name turns up to save her life, and with him the chance to run. But to where? The desert plains are full of danger. Sand and blood are swirling, and the Sultan’s enemies are on the rise.”

I am very excited to read this. It’s been sat on my shelf for quite a while though. I think I bought it when it initially came out and other books have just gone to the top of my TBR pile! This is the first in a trilogy, which I ALWAYS love! Can’t wait to finally read this!

The New Teacher – Dominique Demers
“Mademoiselle Charlotte, the new teacher, is not like the others: she wears a large hat and a crumpled dress that make her look like a scarecrow, and she talks to a rock. The children think she is crazy at first, but soon realize she makes school more fun than ever, getting them to measure the room with cooked spaghetti in maths class, telling fascinating stories about a gorilla and even taking the pupils on at football.”

This was on my ‘Recommended for you’ list on Amazon and I thought ‘why not?’ after reading the blurb. Mml Charlotte sounds like an amazing teacher and I feel this book will make me, and the children laugh. I love a book that I think I can read to the children and them listen to it for pleasure!

Cogheart – Peter Bunzl
“Lily’s life is in mortal peril. Her father is missing and now silver-eyed men stalk her through the shadows. What could they want from her? With her friends – Robert, the clockmaker’s son, and Malkin, her mechanical fox – Lily is plunged into a murky and menacing world. Too soon Lily realizes that those she holds dear may be the very ones to break her heart…Murder, mayhem and mystery meet in this gripping Victorian adventure.”

Who doesn’t love a bit of murder, mayhem and mystery in their lives? I’ve seen a load of fuss about this on Twitter. I’m not normally a girl for hype but this book just is so beautiful that I needed to have it. I can’t wait to read it. It sounds right up my street.

What about you guys? Have you any blue books that you’ve bought recently? Have you read any of the books above? What did you think?

My twitter is always open to discussion (@eenalol) or leave me a comment below!

Review posts will arrive in the next few weeks!

S x

 

3 thoughts on “BOOKHAUL: The blue edition

Leave a Reply

