Book blog: Alwyn Hamilton

Adventure filled, badass main character and daringly exciting!

Recently in my blue haul I talked about Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton. I decided that there was no time like the present and that I would read that next. I finished another the book I was reading, read the amazing King of Rats and decided that this was going to be my next read. And man am I glad it was!

image

“Tell me that and we’ll go. Right now. Save ourselves and leave this place to burn. Tell me that’s how you want your story to go and we’ll write it straight across the sand.”

Dustwalk is Amani’s home. The desert sand is in her bones. But she wants to escape. More than a want. A need.

Then a foreigner with no name turns up to save her life, and with him the chance to run. But to where? The desert plains are full of danger. Sand and blood are swirling, and the Sultan’s enemies are on the rise.”

First off… look at that colour scheme. It is beautiful. There’s nothing more appealing about a book with gold and turquoise colour scheme. And it’s so pretty to touch too. (I’m not weird, I like books!) It just sitting on my bookshelf makes me wanna pick it up and read it again. If you don’t want to pick up a book this beautiful, well then you should change your ways.

I am so torn about talking about this book because I want it to be a spoiler free post but then I want to talk about ALL OF THE AMAZING THINGS IN THE PLOT. There’s THIS and then there’s WHEN SHE SAYS THAT and then when she DISCOVERS THIS. There’s also when THAT HAPPENS ON THE TRAIN and then when she MEETS THOSE PEOPLE. And then the ending. And WHEN THAT HAPPENS TO HIM. There’s the another part with a train. But that’s all I’m telling you.

I loved this book. I got through it in 2 days.

I loved Amani. She’s so tough and stubborn. She’s loveable. She’s hard on the outside but so so soft on the inside. The way her character grows throughout the story is incredible. The adventure she goes on from the balshy girl who dresses up as a boy to shoot guns at the start to this badass newly discovered hero at the end, but never loses her smart mouth and her sense of humour throughout is brilliant. When you come to the revelation about her (you’ll know the one I mean WHEN YOU READ THE BOOK) everything makes sense again. You’ll know why she fits in where she’s meant to. Amani is very much like Twylla (from The Sin Eater’s Daughter): they’re both incredible female male protagonists who will stand up for themselves. I love them both.

You can’t read this book without falling in love with the incredible descriptions that Alywn writes. You can certainly imagine that you’re in these paces that Amani visits. That you battle the battles that she does. That you are overcome with the emotions that she is overcome with. The words blend so well with each other. It’s like reading a painting – strange analogy I know.  There’s no part of it that doesn’t fit. I love the way Alwyn plants a seed early on in the story and then as you go through it it’s suddenly become a flower and you’re reading it going OMG THAT’S WHAT THAT WAS. I had many of those moments.

I can’t write this review of this book without mentioning ‘the foreigner’. I like him. You’ll fall for him too.

To anyone who loves books, you should read this. It’s an adventure.
Amazon and Waterstones sell it, but check any bookshop! You’ll find it!

Keep your eyes peeled for the second in the trilogy… February isn’t THAT far away. I can’t wait! You can tweet Alwyn on twitter @AlwynFJH

Have you guys read it? What did you think? Tweet me @eenalol or comment below!

S x

4 thoughts on “Book blog: Alwyn Hamilton

Leave a Reply

