Lesson idea: Science

Whilst teaching Year 6 Science I wanted to get some extended writing out of them and decided that the digestive system was quite a good topic. I didn’t want them to just write a report about the digestive system or something dull like that so I decided a diary entry was a great idea. We did a few weeks about the digestive system and the whole process and then they had to decide which food they were and write a diary entry about being eaten, going through the digestive system all the way to becoming poo (one of the kids just giggled all the way through the lesson because I said poo!). I was nervous to see how it would come about, because it was quite out there and I had never done it before, but I have to say I think it was one of my favourite lessons of last year! The kids thoroughly enjoyed it and the work produced was of such a high standard too. They really had remembered and applied some amazing knowledge!

Science 1Science 2Science 3Science 4Science 5Science 6

I used a lot of Twinkl’s Plan It resources for this topic of Science. Follow the link, log in if you’re a twinkl member (if you’re not then you SHOULD be) and download away!! (http://www.twinkl.co.uk/resources/planit-science-primary-teaching-resources/planit-science-primary-teaching-resources-y6/planit-science-primary-teaching-resources-y6-animals-including-humans

The digestive system resource you see in some of the pictures is available here: http://www.twinkl.co.uk/resource/t-t-14552-digestive-system-interactive-visual-aid

What have been your favourite Science lessons of the last academic year? Do you enjoy teaching Science?

S x

2 thoughts on “Lesson idea: Science

  1. richardaustinwriter says:

    Great lesson. I love teaching science. My favourite lesson was Cartesian divers in a 2 litre bottle with year 3. I just pressed my thumb on the back without them seeing and they couldn’t figure out how I was making them go up and down. I said it was mind control. I also enjoyed time-lapse recording melting ice cubes with salt on one and nothing on the other. Year 2 loved that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

