SundayYAthon!

Recently on Twitter I have started joining in more blogger chats and it’s been really cool getting to know lots of other bloggers and seeing what they’re up to. One chat that I’m really fond of is #SundayYA – obviously on a Sunday and about YA books. Now as all of you know, I love a bookA LOT, so to be able to talk to other people about books, well that’s me sold!

#SundayYA is ran by the wonderful Rachel (@_babblebooks on Twitter) and we get together and talk about YA books. There’s themes, or books to talk about generally and it’s awesome to just chat about books, themes or share my opinions on books. When Rachel mentioned that there was going to be a #SundayYAthon I tentatively put my name down, saying that I would read 3 books… whether that was wishful thinking or not was to be decided. #SundayYAthon then became a little chat on twitter with all of us discussing what we were going to read, what our goals were and just generally becoming friends! When it finally came around I was still in the middle of a book… OOPS. But I thought I would share my reads and what I thought of them, in a round up kinda post!

The first book I read during #SundayYAthon was ‘The Girl With All The Gifts’ by Michael Carey. You can see my full review in a few days – I loved it so much I dedicated a whole blog post to it! I loved this book. It was amazing, gripping and an absolute page turner. Total 10/10. I have since found out that Michael Carey is writing a sort of prequel to this book and I am SO EXCITED. I’m gonna cut it off there cause as I say there’s a full review coming in a few days! Since that was just a book I needed to just finish off I only classed it as half a book really.

My second book of #SundayYAthon (technically my first FULL book) was ‘Under Rose Tainted Skies’ by Louise Gornall. This is a story about a young girl, Norah, who has severe agoraphobia and how that changes when a new boy moves in next door, Luke. I enjoyed this book. I didn’t love it, it was a heavy read but I managed to get through it in less than a day. It was interesting to read how her agoraphobia really affected her and had an impact on everything in her life. The thing that makes this book so very true is that it is written with people’s experiences of agoraphobia in mind. I liked Luke, I can’t lie. It was good to read about Norah’s journey – you really root for her. A solid 8/10. I’d be interested in seeing what else Louise Gornall writes! I liked her writing style.

Next for #SundayYAthon I read ‘Kindred Spirits’ by Rainbow Rowell. If you haven’t read anything by Rainbow Rowell then what are you waiting for?! She’s incredible. I would absolutely recommend Eleanor and Park. There’s something so amazing about that story that I keep going back to it. Kindred Spirits was a short story released for World Book Day. I had been after it for WEEKS. And I managed to find it in Waterstones and bought it… £1. You CAN NOT complain for £1. It’s very short, maybe 60 pages. It’s a sweet story about a girl who joins the line outside the theatre to go see Star Wars. She meets some characters. Has some laughs. This is a very harmless book. Great for teenagers I would say. Another good 8/10. It took me about half an hour to read! Give it a go if you just want something short and sweet!

The final book I read for #SundayYAthon was ‘Beautiful Broken Things’ by Sara Barnard. Now, this book. I went up and down with this book. Don’t get me wrong I enjoyed it, and naturally I cried at the end. I just found it SUCH a struggle at times. The book is about Caddy and Rosie, who at the start of the book are the definition of best friends – they do everything together, talk to each other every night. Caddy is the girl who always does her homework, goes to all her lessons, goes to the posh school, whereas Rosie is a girl who goes to a local school, just gets by being a student. (I reckon I was Caddy at school). Then Rosie introduces Suzanne into the equation. The book is about how the dynamic between the 3 friends changes, how the personalities change and how fatalities can sometimes define our friendships and our lives. I really enjoyed the WAY this book was written – having the text broken up with text messages, I love when a book is written like this – and I also really enjoyed learning about the different personalities in the book. I have a very up and down relationship with Suzanne. She feels like a bit of a saboteur. I think this is why I struggled at points. I was ready to give up about 70% of the way through. But I persevered. The ending to the book is well rounded and it really works for the way that the book should end. I guess a bit of conflict in a book is a good thing, you don’t want to give up on it! I have spoken to other #SundayYAthon‘ers who absolutely loved this book, and some, like me who enjoyed it. I’d give it 8.5/10, I think.

So that is that! That’s my round up of the books I read for #SundayYAthon. Come along on a Sunday at 6pm on Twitter, I’ll be there having a little chinwag with other #SundayYA people!

S x

2 thoughts on “SundayYAthon!

Leave a Reply

