Nervous? Anticipation? Excitement?

Here we are, it’s Tuesday night. I’ve had 6 weeks off and 2 training days in school. I should be ready for the kids to come back. I am. I’m not. I will be. It’s this bit that I dislike the most. The waiting. Once there’s kids in school I am so much more at peace. They’re the reason I’m in school anyway. I am looking forward to seeing them all again. They’re little lights in my life. They make me laugh, they make me cross, they make me cry but they’re always there. They have so much faith in me. I’ll miss the Year 6 lot. I had a lot to do with their last few in primary schools. We had an incredible relationship. I had a great relationship with their parents too. I was comfortable with them in the classroom. They’re the class I learned how to become the teacher I am today. Now they’re gone I am totally out of my comfort zone. I’m ready for the challenge, for the change… but my word am I nervous. I’m excited too. I don’t know what the next year has in store for me. I know I’ll laugh, a lot. I know I’ll work, a lot. I know I’ll dedicate everything I can to school.

I’ve been thinking about this for a while… what do I want out of my next year? So here are some things I want from the next year. It’s funny my year used to go January to December but now I live my life from September to July. And I wouldn’t change it for the world!

  1. To get my degree. When I started my degree I was like “YEAH! I am gunning for a first”. Heck I am still gunning for a first but just like the last year, this year is going to be tough. I’m working full time, I’ll have a dissertation to write and I still have to be a friend, a daughter and a decent person ha! I apologise in advance to anyone who comes across me for the next year. Ultimately getting my degree is what this past few years has been all about. I need a degree to be a teacher. I’m getting there. I have a lot of work to do this year. I’m ready for it. I have an amazing support network of friends, family, colleagues and uni people. 
  2. To not beat myself up if things don’t quite go as planned. I’m quite tough on myself. I’m a bit of a perfectionist (I don’t think it’s a bad thing). And I’m sometimes not very kind to myself. I’m working on this and I want to keep working on it this year. Things aren’t always going to go my way, or work the way I think they will and THAT’S OK.
  3. Dedicate some time every week to me. To do something I really love doing. Be it reading in Starbucks on a Sunday (with uni work staring at me from my bag). Go for a walk to the seaside with my book and iPod. Doing some shopping. Going to the park. Seeing the Twiglets. And not feel bad for it. 
  4. To ask for help if I need it. I am pretty stubborn. I don’t ask for help very often. I will do more than I need to. I think I see it as a sign of weakness if I can’t cope with something. (I know it isn’t and it’s drilling that into my daft head!) So I hope to ask for help if I need it. Delegation is something I need to work on. Not that I manage people but if I’m just doing something which adds to my already massive pile of to do just so that someone else doesn’t have to do it (who doesn’t have such a large to do pile) then I need to remember that it’s all about team work. 
  5. Remember to enjoy my job. And remember why I started in the first place. Those days where I’m having a down day I’ll try and remember that I am doing this because kids are infuriating, wonderful, cool little humans who look to me for guidance. I don’t feel like an adult often but when I’m in the classroom that’s one time I do! I do love my job. I think that’s why it isn’t a hardship when my alarm goes off and it’s chucking it down outside. 

So those are my aims for the year ahead. Keep reminding me of these if I start breaking any of them!

Do you have any aims for the year ahead? Let me know in the comments or tweet me @eenalol!

S x

Leave a Reply

