Second week… more fun!

If I’m honest I’m not sure I quite remember all of last week. It was BUSY. My brain is not quite there to remembering what went on. But I can fill you in on Friday. Because we had quite an exciting day in Year 4!

Last year the children had done some work with Barnardo’s about bullying and hate crimes. We had been part of a project with Newcastle United Foundation and Barnardos to help combat all types of hate crime/bullying. The children had designed some bunting which was then produced and made into some beautiful all weather bunting. So we were invited along to St James’ Park to do some work with the foundation and some volunteers from the charity about combatting bullying and hate crimes.

We arrived at about 9:30 and were taken to a very posh suite in St James’ Park. The children were so excited. Most of our children are Newcastle fans so for them this is a BIG thing. It was so sweet. Year 4 and Year 5 were invited along to take part. The children did some work on identifying and defining bullying/hate crime/sexism etc and then they were asked to produce a poster for the foundation to hopefully use. After that we got the chance to go out into the stadium for a photo op for the press. This was the chance for the children to see the bunting and for some of them to see the stadium for the first time! 52,000 seats is not a little thing. St James’ Park is beautiful. (I could be biased…). The kids were so well behaved, holding the bunting up when they were asked to. That took a short while and then we went back to school!

We have been looking at George’s Marvellous Medicine in our reading sessions and on Wednesday (see it’s coming back to me now… on Thursday I had a colossal fall over…) the children had used thesauruses to find synonyms for boring adjectives to describe Grandma. So Friday their focus was using those powerful adjectives in their writing. George had written then a letter to tell them Grandma had gone missing after taking one of his medicines and they needed to create a wanted poster. And I have marked their writing and it was SO GOOD. They all managed to use their adjectives in their writing and produce a piece they should be proud of. It was a happy teacher moment for sure!

(So yes, Thursday, I fell over. I was playing basketball with one of the girls and i had a colossal fall. I have a mega grazed knee and it still hurts as I write this on Sunday. That’s what I get for playing with the kids I guess ha!)

How was your second week back? It being a full week absolutely wrecked me. I slept so well on Friday night and am now still tired now! Ha! Let me know on Twitter or in the comments below!

S x

Leave a Reply

