Bookshop Day

October 8th this year was #BookshopDay so NATURALLY I visited a bookshop and BOUGHT BOOKS. What else would I do? I mean I can’t say that every day isn’t bookshop day with me but I need to celebrate it PROPERLY!

I have lusted after BooksAreMyBag bags forever and I never managed to get my hands on one. But when I saw them in Waterstones I knew I had to have one. JUST LOOK AT IT. It is a grey masterpiece. I love grey. My mam said “I knew you’d go for that!” when I picked it up. At £15 it isn’t the cheapest but it is beautiful and it’s a very sturdy fabric so it’s worth it! I don’t often splurge! 

img_2937

 

So now I have my bag, I need some books to put in it… and whatever did I splurge on?!

img_2939

Imaginary Fred – Eoin Colfer and Oliver Jeffers.
“Sometimes, with a little electricity, or luck, or even magic, an imaginary friend might appear when you need one. An imaginary friend like Fred…

Fred floated like a feather in the wind until a lonely little boy wished for him and found a friendship like no other.”

I LOVE Oliver Jeffers. I own almost all of his books. I’ve seen this on Twitter for a few weeks now, so I knew I had to have it… and when it was on buy one get one half price I was convinced! I have heard that it’s made a few people cry, so I best read it to myself before I read it to the kids! I can’t wait to read this!

(Whilst we’re talking about tears…) Refuge – Anne Booth
“The Christmas story and what follows: the fleeing of Jesus, Mary and Joseph from Herod’s soldiers to Egypt.”

I saw this story, and thought it would be great for work! I work in a primary school and we’re always looking for new stories to read them. I started reading this to my mam and we got about 6 pages in and I could feel myself tearing up, ha. It’s the story told from the perspective of the donkey. I’ll have to read it to myself to ensure I don’t cry reading it aloud haha!

The Christmasaurus – Tom Fletcher
“Forget everything you thought you knew about the North Pole, and set off on a Christmas Eve adventure with boy named William Trundle, an elf named Snozzletrump, Santa Claus (yes! The real Santa Claus!), a nasty piece of work called the Hunter, and a most unusual dinosaur . . .”

Being an avid follower of Tom on Youtube I’ve seen all sorts of posts about this story and now I finally have my hands on it I am SUPER GLAD. I am going to read it and use it in the classroom! My Year 4 love stories and I think this will be perfect for them! 

So that’s my #BookshopDay haul. It is unintentionally a blue haul too! Love it. Did you go to a bookshop? Have you read any of these books? Let me know in the comments or on twitter @eenalol

S x

Leave a Reply

