Curriculum maps

So for my recent SCITT interview and observation I wanted to show off my skills, to show them that I had a skill set already. I’ve worked for 7 years honing these skills so why should I not “show” them off?

51vwmbxc0cl-_sx258_bo1204203200_

Since I was using The Tunnel by Anthony Browne (which is an incredible story, you can get so much from it, with any age I reckon) I thought it would be a great idea to show the people running the course that if I was to do a topic around this book how I would link it to other areas of the curriculum (specifically in Year 3). I spent a lot of time looking through the curriculum objectives for Year 3 and thinking about how they could/how they would link to a topic around this book/Anthony Browne books!

I love doing topics based around books. They lead you down so many different paths, or down one very specific path that you can have so much fun with it!

I’ve attached the curriculum map I’ve made for Year 3 to this post as I think it could be useful for other Year 3 teachers who are possibly using the story for the first time, or maybe have been using it for years and would like to see how other people would use it.

Please let me know if you have any comments to make about it, or if you have any curriculum maps you’d like to share. I think they’re incredible and have so much worth to them. They’re a great place to have all of your ideas on!

Download here:the-tunnel-y3-cross-curricula

S x

Leave a Reply

