Favourite reads of 2016: MG edition

So earlier today you all got to see my YA/fiction favourites of 2016, but I am SO LUCKY in that I get to read an awful lot of MG books and picture books, so I figured I would do a MG/picture book favourites too! Again these are books that I’ve read (to myself/with the kids) this year, they may have been published before this year!

ALSO there were 2 or 3 books that could’ve easily made this pile BUT haven’t been published yet, so keep your eyes out for a preview post for those books.

So without further ado…

best-mg-2016-2

 

Again these are in no particular order, just books that I have absolutely loved this year!

  1. Kiran Milwood-Hargrave: The Girl of Ink and Stars. My younger self loved this and my elder self loved this too. I recommend this book to eacha nd every single one of you. Please read it. It is incredible.
  2. Ross Montgomery: Perijee and Me. I devoured this book and my Y4s devoured it when I read it to them too. I can’t wait to read this to another group of kids. It is SO amazing.
  3. Peter Bunzl: Cogheart. Absolutely amazing. Just wonderfully written and woven. Perfect for using in schools.
  4. Gabrielle Kent: Alfie Bloom and the Secrets of Hexbridge Castle. I was lucky enough to get a visit from Gabrielle into school this year and she was so incredible. This book is funny and our kids loved it! The book is CONSTANTLY out of the school library.
  5. Chris Callaghan: The Great Chocoplot. You get hooked from the first line. I read it VERY quickly after buying it at UKYACX (where I got to meet him and he’s wonderful).
  6. Ross Montgomery/David Litchfield: The Building Boy. Incredibly moving and sad tale. These 2 just keep producing amazing picture books! (See The Bear and The Piano… LOVE)
  7. Ed Vere: Max and Bird. I was sent this by Sarah and it made me laugh a lot! I can’t wait to read more from Max! Perfect end of the day story!
  8. Peter Reynolds: Ish. I came across this just recently and it’s so great for kids. It’s all about perseverance and making mistakes being a good thing. I cried the first time I read it. 
  9. James O’Neill/Russell Ayto: The Wolf Who Cried Boy. I love a spin on a well known tale and this one was lovely! It certainly made me smile and the kids loved it!
  10. Faye Hanson: The Wonder. Beautifully illustrated and a wonderful story. I loved sharing this with the kids at school and have planned some lessons based on it!

So as you can see 2016 was a GREAT year for stories for kids! (And adults alike, I mean I won’t stop reading them just because they’re for children!) Massive thanks to Sarah from Penguin for sending me some of these books!

So there you have it! So many others could’ve been on my list! I have so many other books that I’ve not managed to get through yet that would definitely have made this list! 

S x

Leave a Reply

