2017 work wishes

I posted earlier this week about my 2017 plans (not resolutions, cause that’s a stupid word and they’re always broken) and mentioned that there would be a work specific one. Work and uni take a lot of my time so I think it’s good to give them their own time and place!

I will try to be more organised.
Now for those of you who know me you’re probably thinking ‘WHATTTT? YOU’RE SUPER ORGANISED’. Well yes, in some ways I am super organised but in other ways I am not. I work very well on the last minute kind of things but I’d like to know that especially for my dissertation that I will have it all in hand. I’m going to be doing my teacher training from September so I’m going to have to be organised. 

I will try to say no.
Again if you work with me you’ll know I’m RUBBISH at saying no. I will do whatever for whoever. I’m just that kind of gal. I work hard and if you ask me to do it and I feel it’s in my job description then I’ll do it. That’s just how I work. Sometimes however it does mean that my actual priorities get put aside and then those things end up eating at my ‘me time’. So saying no and prioritising are things I’m going to try to do this year.

I will try to concentrate on what’s important and what’s positive.
I so often get stuck in the negative. I’m quite a negative, introverted person outside of my Miss Elliott day to day job title. I am defined by my job quite often. It gives me purpose and meaning, so when something doesn’t quite go right I worry and stress out, instead of realising that it’s fine. It will be fine. I need to remember to take the positives out of situations.

I will read with the kids.
When they’re having silent reading time, especially in my Y4 classroom, I will make an effort to read along with them. I will make sure I always have a book that I can read in school so that we share silent reading time. Now I realise there’s going to be times when I have other things to do but I want to make a concerted effort to read in the classroom with the kids. It’ll help them see that I see reading as important. I love reading, they know this but to show them will just give it more depth.

Do you have any work plans? Anything you’d like to try this year? Let me know in the comments or on twitter, I’m always open to suggestions! 

S x

One thought on “2017 work wishes

Leave a Reply

