Books I meant to read…

YA books in 2016!

My wonderful friend Jess posted this idea on Twitter and I thought “that’s a brilliant idea!” so I decided I would share with you guys some of the books from 2016 which I meant to get round to buying/reading but never had time for! 2016 was filled with so many incredible books that it was impossible to read them all. I’m hoping though that I get to read some, if not all of these books by the end of 2017.

books-2016

Orangeboy – Patrice Lawrence
I was lucky enough to hear Patrice talk about this book on one of the incredible UKYACX panels. Alas I never got round to buying one and therefore reading it 😦

Cell 7 – Kerry Drewery
Now this is one I did manage to buy, but I never got round to reading. Kerry is incredible – she is one half of the organising mastermind behind UKYACX so my copy is even signed. 

Lifers – M.A.Griffin
This is again another book I bought at UKYACX but never got round to reading! The author was lovely and I managed to sneak in getting my copy signed, but like so many other incredible books it is still on my TBR.

The Diabolic – S.J.Kincaid
I didn’t start hearing about this book until November/December of 2016 so I wasn’t fully aware of it but I want to read it! I am very lucky that my lovely friend Lily (over at SweetLoveBooks on Youtube) had read this and she offered to send it to me! So now I have it I have to get round to shoving it up my TBR pile.

Radio Silence – Alice Oseman
I feel like I’ve read some Alice Oseman before and I feel like I loved it (however I have a terrible memory and I read MANY books) so I don’t know how this one slipped out of my way. The #SundayYA girls are always talking about it though, so I should get my hands on it ASAP. 

Holding Up The Universe – Jennifer Niven
This is another one that I feel the #SundayYA crew keep talking about that’s managed to slip through my fingers. I will read it this year. I will read it this year. 

The Call – Peadar O’Guilin
I remember entering a competition to win this and I didn’t win. What a sad time. However now I have managed to get my hands on a copy (again, thanks Lily!) so now I MUST get it read!

Our Chemical Hearts – Krystal Sutherland
Oh this book kept just slipping out of my fingers. I really must get hold of it. I feel like it was talked about A LOT last year so I need to read it for to see what all the fuss was about! 

The Sun Is Also A Star – Nicola Yoon
I got sent a copy of this from wonderful Sarah from wonderful Penguin Books and it is on my shelf just waiting to be read. 

Crooked Kingdom – Leigh Bardugo
I was lucky enough to meet Leigh a few years ago when I met Melinda Saisbury for the first time – they were doing an event together at Seven Stories. They’re both wickedly wonderful ladies and I would like to be real life friends with them both. I didn’t get a chance to buy this book alas, but I shall definitely buy it this year because I have heard SO MANY wonderful things about it!

How Not To Disappear – Claire Furness
I think this is one of the other books that I didn’t get round to reading despite the fact I own it! It’s one of those books on my shelf that I want to read but it is always surpassed by something else. I will make an effort to pick it up soon!

Wink Poppy Midnight – April Genevieve Tucholke
This book has just come into my knowledge in the past few days but MY WORD LOOK AT IT. What can I say? I am a bit of a cover lover. It looks like my kind of book. It certainly has shelf appeal. I need to get this bought and read!

So there we go! There’s just SOME of the YA books released in 2016 that I didn’t get round to reading. I’m sure there are so so many more! If you’ve seen a book that you’ve read that I’ve never mentioned that you loved that you think I should read then PLEASE let me know! I love book recommendations and NEVER need an excuse to go book shopping!!

S x

p.s. You should go and check out Jess’ post too over here: Bookendsandendings – Jess’ blog

3 thoughts on “Books I meant to read…

  1. Kelsey says:

    So many of the books are on your list are on mine too! I did read Our Chemical Hearts though and that was incredible!
    Also, I may have one a copy of The Call in the competition 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

