BOOK BLOG: Alwyn Hamilton 2

Traitor To The Throne: fast paced, heart wrenching, glorious.

img_3760

For those of you who haven’t read Rebel of the Sands (Alwyn’s first book) you can find my review here (Book blog: Alwyn Hamilton). Important to read that before this!

As soon as I had finished Rebel I knew I needed the second book and now that I’ve finished the second glorious book I NEED THE THIRD ONE NOW. But alas, I have to wait an extra year. I DO NOT WISH TO WAIT. But alas.

img_3762

“Nearly a year has passed since Amani and the rebels won their epic battle at Fahali. Amani has come into both her powers and her reputation as the Blue-Eyed Bandit, and the Rebel Prince’s message has spread across the desert – and some might say out of control. But when a surprise encounter turns into a brutal kidnapping, Amani finds herself betrayed in the cruellest manner possible.

Stripped of her powers and her identity, and torn from the man she loves, Amani must return to her desert-girl’s instinct for survival. For the Sultan’s palace is a dangerous one, and the harem is a viper’s nest of suspicion, fear and intrigue. Just the right place for a spy to thrive… But spying is a dangerous game, and when ghosts from Amani’s past emerge to haunt her, she begins to wonder if she can trust her own treacherous heart.”

img_3761

I didn’t need to read the blurb to know that I would absolutely devour this book and adore it. I was not wrong. It was everything I wanted and so much more. It frustrated me, it made my heart leap and cheer, it made my heart sink at times. There was a total OMG I KNEW IT moment. It was so satisfying to have someone I was sceptical of be affirmed. Bloody kid. It was one of those rollercoasters of a book that I have grown to absolutely love. I used to be TERRIBLE at appreciating books that took my on an emotional rollercoaster but now I will snap one out of your hands. 

Welcome back to the world of sassy Amani – the girl with so much to give, so much personality, so much going on in her head – and her band of rebels. Everything is well in her world until one day she is not the girl of sand anymore, she is ripped of that in the most harrowing ways. She loses her Amani-ness but never loses her sass and her gusto. Amani is one of the few female MCs of the past few years that I have absolutely fallen for. She’s just so gutsy. I love her for that. And then there’s wonderful, handsome, cowardly at times Jin. I was SO happy that there was another book for me to rediscover my love for Jin and Amani together. It’s so lovely to read of a couple who aren’t perfect but who just get each other and they’re made for each other. I adore Jin. Like completely and utterly. Their scenes together are just wonderful, they make my heart happy. It’s never easy going for them, bless them, but they always have each other’s backs. 

So you get those 2 and the usual band of rebels but you’re introduced to some new faces… both rebels and enemies. One of my favourite new additions is definitely Sam. He has a somewhat unique power which makes him an incredible ally to Amani and the rebels. I was suspicious of him at first, but he proves himself very useful to the cause. There’s also some new faces on the enemy side of the fence. One I hated in particular. Kadir. Absolutely couldn’t stand him. I’m not about to spoil it for you wonderful folk, but I would love to share in my contempt towards him. Made my skin crawl. 

You’ll see some familiar faces reappear too. And you’ll be shocked and then have your familiar trust of them reaffirmed eventually. I don’t wish to spoil it because I am so glad no one spoiled it for me. Just know my heart was totally warmed. Good work Alwyn.

I loved this. I can’t WAIT for the third one. In the mean time I need to occupy my brain. And find a Jin replacement. 

I even had to share my opinions on Amazon and Goodreads:
“Absolutely magnificent. So brilliantly woven, written and wielded. Alwyn is a master story teller and I love that this book is very different from the first but it is still so true to the story. The moments of Jin and Amani together made my heart bounce with joy. I laughed, I cried, I was shocked, I was angry… it was so amazing to see old characters resurrected that I thought were long gone, new characters who played an important role in the story – both good and bad. Full of twists, turns and falls… I just want more NOW”

S x

3 thoughts on “BOOK BLOG: Alwyn Hamilton 2

Leave a Reply

