To my pocket friends…

Hello all you wonderful people on the internet,

It’s only right that here, Valentines Day, I share a message with the people who inspire me, push me and support me the most.

The internet is a place filled with trolls, horrible people and badness… but I’m lucky that I have found you. I’ve found my niche in the world of ALL OF THE PEOPLE SAYING ALL OF THE THINGS. It’s hard to take the internet seriously sometimes because there is so much going on – so much clickbait, so many trolls, so much content being read and thrust in your face at one time – but it’s important to remember that the internet is a wonderful place that connects people of like minds. It connects me to you: some of the most incredible people I have the luxury of knowing and calling my friends. 

I am very blessed in that this here blog, my corner of the internet, has been taken under the wing of so many of you wonderful people who I don’t know in real life, but who are my biggest supporters. You champion my tiny little blog,  support me and are the first to read my posts and retweet my tweets. All of your suggestions for improvements, the things you send me of things you think I’d love are so gratefully accepted. I’ve never known a bunch of people to accept me as willingly as you have and it makes me so happy.

Twitter is the place that has introduced me to most of you. Twitter is a wonderful place (it’s also a terrifying place of anger, hatred and darkness) filled with love and friendly faces. I want to thank each and every one of you for being lovely to me, for supporting me, for telling me to keep going. You all make me feel loved, supported and part of a wonderful community. Whether it is the teaching community, the book blogging community of just the community of awesome twitter users you’re all wonderful and welcomed me with open arms.

To my SundayYAhoneyz: I can’t wait to meet you all and hug you.  YALC is so far away, but we have already formed such an incredible friendship that I know by the time YALC comes we will be the firmest of friends. I love you ladies so much.
Rachel: you are the reason we are so incredibly close, you’re an absolutely incredible woman, I’ve never known anyone as inspiring as you. You truly are our overlady. Kelly: you’re one of those special people in life you come across so rarely. I can’t wait to come to Wales and see your life! Aoife: you’re my favourite Irish person, you have the most amazing spirit, don’t let life suck that out of you. Remember we believe in you every single day. Cora: I love that I have another northern compadre. I can’t wait to get to spend more bookish events with you. You’re one of the kindest souls I’ve ever known and you always have wise words to share.
You ladies have no idea how quick you have become a part of my every day life. It sucks every single day that we all live so far away. I love each and every one of you. You all have such an important part to play in my life and I will never have the words to say thank you enough. Your messages of encouragement, questions and laughter make even the worst day seem bearable. I love you all massively.

To the UKYA twitter community: All of you are absolutely wonderful, you’ve all changed my life in ways you’ll never know. I never really felt part of something as big and as special as this. You are all my favourite people. From the wonderful authors, the publishers and my fellow bloggers, thank you so much for including me in this incredible world you call the UKYA community. I am so proud to be part of it.

To the twitter teacher community: you guys constantly affirm my positivity in that teaching is the best job in the world. You are all incredible educaters, you are all inspiring and you never fail to answer any of the stupid teaching questions I have. I love seeing what happens in and out of your classrooms – I have magpied an uncountable amount of things for my own classroom, when I finally have one. You guys are also always on hand for a chat about books to use in the classroom. I have loved watching the teacher book community grow and surrounding myself with you wonderful twitterers.

Finally, to each and every one of you who has ever had something nice to say to me, I am so so grateful. You are all wonderful people. I am always here to chat. I have all the time in the world for you all.

Love, eenalol x

2 thoughts on “To my pocket friends…

Leave a Reply

