Blogger Recognition Award

A big thank you to the lovely Kelly @ Kelly’s Ramblings for nominating me for this one. You should go and check out her blog!

bl

RULES…

1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
2. Write a post to show your award
3. Give a brief story of how your blog started
4. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers
5. Select 15 other bloggers you want to give this award to
6. Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them & provide the link to the post you created

How did my blog start?!

I haven’t been blogging ALL THAT LONG. Maybe about 6 months now? So I’m relatively new in the blogging world. I started blogging because I wanted a place to talk about books and teaching. There wasn’t really anywhere else I could think – I had a tumblr years ago and didn’t feel like going back there. I blog regularly for work (each of the classes has their own blog) so I knew the workings of WordPress so figured ‘why not go for it?’ And one day I just sat down and decided that A Little But A Lot would be born. The words are a play on lyrics from Matilda the Musical (which I wrote a blog post about… one of my very first! You can read it here: Matilda The Musical) and I have loved blogging ever since.

Two pieces of advice to new bloggers?

  1. Absolutely blog for yourself.
    Write blog posts you want to tell the world about. Write because you want to share. Write because there’s something in you that you want to shout about. Write things that you would want to read. Too many bloggers get into blogging think it’ll be easy, thinking there’ll be loads of free stuff… those things are wonderful and they’l come to you eventually, but you have to blog for the right reasons. And make sure you’re putting across a perception of yourself that you’re happy for people to see. Your blog is just an extension of you. Be proud of it in its entirety.
  2. The blogging community is a wonderful place, filled with exceptional people.
    Some of my best “pocket friends” as we call each other I have met because of my blogging. Find your niche in the world of blogging and I can guarantee you’ll make some exceptional friends. Don’t be scared to join in twitter chats, put yourself out there and share your blog posts. If you surround yourself with the right people you’ll be grand. Talk to people who are like minded and people who lift you up. I absolutely can not applaud my online community enough. They are my biggest fans, supporters and the people who challenge me most.

Who do I nominate?

 

3 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. utopiastateofmind says:

    Those pieces are advice are so good! I would also add to not be afraid to explore. Changing up a style, trying something new is so important.

    Like

Leave a Reply

