BOOK BLOG:

Who Let The Gods Out: Funny, moving… a joy to read!

img_3893

I recently started seeing ‘Who Let The Gods Out’ from my tweacher friends and thought I would get my hands on it and man am I glad I did! 

img_3894

“Elliot’s mum is ill and his home is under threat, but a shooting star crashes to earth and changes his life forever. The star is Virgo – a young Zodiac goddess on a mission. But the pair accidentally release Thanatos, a wicked death daemon imprisoned beneath Stonehenge, and must then turn to the old Olympian gods for help. After centuries of cushy retirement on earth, are Zeus and his crew up to the task of saving the world – and solving Elliot’s problems too?”

img_3895

I love an adaptation of something historical (I recently had this revelation in my life, so if you have any recommendations to throw my way then PLEASE DO, especially if it has to do with gods of the differing people) so this totally was up my street. Elliot, the little boy in the story, meets Virgo (a constellation, from the sky obviously) and they end up going on this incredible adventure which features Greek Gods (who are out of shape totally), the Queen (who is totally awesome) and an evil neighbour. 

I really enjoyed this story. It will be perfect to share with the kids at school. It’ll sit well in our library and I have high hopes that it will be one of the books that fly off the shelf as soon as it’s back in the library. If you’re teaching the Greeks then it is a PERFECT book to read alongside your topic – there are so many shout outs to some Ancient Greek culture – with some shout outs to today#s modern culture, which the kids will absolutely adore. 

There is more to come from this series and I can not wait to read them. The next one is out in August (if my memory serves me correctly) and I am genuinely looking forward to it! 

Quick shout out to THIS on Chicken House books! 3 words to describe the books and a TRY IT lure for kids. I know kids can struggle so much choosing a book, so having this on the book will certainly help those who need it! Thanks! 

img_3896

S x

5 thoughts on “BOOK BLOG:

Leave a Reply

