Beauty and the Beast

IT’S BEAUTY AND THE BEAST DAY PEOPLE. THIS IS NOT A DRILL. IT IS HAPPENING. I AM EXCITED. I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR THIS FOR A LONG TIME. (I was apprehensive at first, but now that it is time… I AM THE MOST EXCITED).

Image result for beauty and the beast

Hello, my name is Steph and I love Beauty and the Beast. I do not remember a time where Beauty and the Beast wasn’t my favourite Disney film. I do not wish to think of a time when Beauty and the Beast will not be my favourite Disney film. I am going to outline now a few reasons why Beauty and the Beast SHOULD be one of your favourite Beauty and the Beast films. Lots of love and all that, x

So here are the reasons why I love the original (I am sure I will have feelings about the new version, and will share them at same point!)…

original-beauty-and-the-beast

Image result for beauty and the beast belleBelle: she’s bookish, she’s smart, she stands up for herself against Gaston (who I have strange feelings about… more of that in a minute) and she loves her dad. She locks herself up in Beast’s prison for him! She’s incredible. She sees people for their heart, not for what they look like. She’s curious, she’s inquisitive. She’s BEAUTIFUL too. (I mean duh, Belle is French for beautiful after all).

Image result for beauty and the beast beastBeast: yeah he’s scary, he’s not particularly friendly and he was mean to the witch at the start of the story (which turns him in to a beast in the first place) but watching him change from a hardened, mean, shut off beast to an open, loving, accepting man at the end is wonderful. Look at his daft little face man. He provides many little laughs during the film. The bit with the birds? The bit with the hair? Yep. I like the beast. He’s lovely. And he fights for Belle – he lets her leave when her dad is ill. He physically fights against Gaston. Good old Adam (for those of you who didn’t know… he’s Prince Adam)

Gaston: Image result for beauty and the beast gastonI know, I’m surprised he’s here too. He’s cocky, smarmy and not the kind of fella that I would want to be associated with, but he’s necessary. He’s malicious, sly and sneaky. He’s not the quintessential Disney villain, but he’s certainly one of the most wicked. Plus ‘The Mob Song’ and ‘Gaston’ are particular exceptional songs. 

Supporting characters: there are SO MANY characters I love in this story. Mrs Potts, Chip, Cogsworth and Lumiere are particular stand outs for me though. I like Lumiere’s impression he’s suave and sophisticated. I like Cogsworth’s scepticism, he’s the voice of reason. Mrs Potts is the sheer romantic of the group. I love her. Chip and his gorgeous innocence make my heart so happy. 

Image result for beauty and the beast cogsworth and lumiere

Soundtrack: now here I could just list ALL THE SONGS because the soundtrack to this film is exceptional but I’ll just choose 3. (HELP HOW DO I CHOOSE 3?)

‘Belle’ perfect Belle song. This tells the story of her little town and how she wants more. I know every. single. word. I sing it OFTEN when I’m pretending I am Belle. This song highlights how different Belle is from her townspeople but she remains kind. And it includes a bookshop… SOLD.

‘Gaston’ perfect song for Gaston. Full of his own self importance and how much the ladies are in love with him… except Belle. I can’t help but sing along to this all the time!

‘Mob Song’ – I think this is one of the most underrated songs in the whole soundtrack. It shows Gaston’s menace and macchiavellian ways perfectly. How manipulative he is. How much the people worship him by following him. How Belle tries to fight for her Beast. The Beast just giving up at the end because Belle’s gone. How people change and some are just mean.

That yellow dress:

Image result for beauty and the beast yellow dress

Ok, so as you’ve gleaned I LOVE everything about Beauty and the Beast and I could mention so much more, but I’ll leave it there! 

Do you agree? Do you love Beauty and the Beast? What are your favourite soundtrack songs? I would love to hear! I love talking Belle and Beast! Let me know in the comments below or on twitter @eenalol.

S x

11 thoughts on “Beauty and the Beast

  1. Aoife says:

    Can we talk about how bloody gorgeous the concept art poster for the film was? I was born roughly nine months after the animation was released in the UK and Ireland, and honestly I think it’s a sign.

    Like

  2. Kate says:

    And we are going to see it tomorrow! I love that Belle gets to wear different outfits, Disney princesses normally don’t have costume changes, she has quite a few, my favourite is the green dress in the library

    Like

  3. Tiana (The Book Raven) says:

    This was such a cool post! I love that you love beauty and the beast so much! I am also really looking forward to watching this movie! I can’t wait to hear what you think of it, although I’m sure it’s going to be absolutely beautiful and amazing! 😊✨

    Like

    • selliott16 says:

      Oh it’s wonderful! Everyone should go and see it! I will be posting a blog about it in the next week or so, once I’ve seen it a few more times ha! Thank you so much for your comment. Have a lovely day! x

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Lou says:

    I loved this film from the moment it came out on VHS – yep, I’m that old. I finished ‘Barefoot on the Wind’ this week, and realised one of the most interesting characters is never explored in the Disney animation. The enchantress. Why exactly did she exact such retribution on the prince?
    Still love the film though, and looking forward to the live action. Emma Watson was such a good choice for Belle. Bookish, unafraid to speak her mind …

    Like

Leave a Reply

