A Week In My Life…

Not the whole week… just snapshots! 

As you all (I hope by now) know I work in a primary school! I am a HLTA and I teach in most of the classes from Year 1 to Year 6! I thought it would be interesting to give you a snapshot into the working week of me and for you to share your working weeks too! Mine is truly diverse and this is a very general look at what I do; it can change from day to day and from week to week! So here goes…

Monday
9-10 Phonics interventions (2 different groups)

10-12 Year 2: Maths and English
1-3:15 Year 6: Guided Reading, French and Topic (Geography/History)
(Monday I do Out of School Club until 5:30)

Tuesday
9-9:30 Phonics intervention
9:30-12 Year 2: Maths and English
1-1:30 Y5 French
1:30 – 2 Year 5 1:1 reading 
2-2:30 Year 1 Phonics intervention
2:30-3 Year 3 French
(Tuesday is staff meeting day!)

Wednesday
9-9:30 Phonics intervention
9:30-12 Year 2: Maths and English
1-3:15 Year 4: Guided reading, Topic (Geography/History half termly) and assembly (then story time!)
(Wednesday again I do Out of School Club til 5:30)

Thursday
9-9:30 Phonics intervention
9:30-12 Year 2: Maths and English
1-1:30 Year 2 Guided reading
1:30 – 2 Reception support
2-2:30 Year 1 Reading group
(Thursday I go to uni after work… it’s exhausting).

Friday – Year 4 ALL day
9-9:30 SPAG
9:30-10 Whole class reading (We’re currently reading The Suitcase Kid)
10-10:45 Science 
11-12 Maths
1-1:30 French
1:30-2:15 Art
2:15-3:15 Assembly, treat time and story time!

So there you have it! My week! It is super varied and I’m always super busy but that’s the way I like it! I get to see a lot of different children and work with lots of different age ranges. This is only going to help me for whatever the future in my teaching career has to offer! 

I would love to know what other people’s work weeks look like! You don’t have to be working in a school for me to be interested! I am just nebby! 

S x

One thought on “A Week In My Life…

Leave a Reply

