BOOKBLOG: Coral Rumble

owl and pussycat banner6

The Adventures of the Owl and the Pussycat: fun, beautifully illustrated and imaginative!

IMG_4543

Release Date: 4th April 2017
Publisher: Wacky Bee Books

The Owl and the Pussycat went to sea, in a box on the living room floor. They sailed away for a year and a day and these are the things that they saw… Join two curious children on a quirky adventure, loosely based on the classic Edward Lear poem, The Owl and the Pussycat.

IMG_4544

 

I absolutely loved this story! It was such a gorgeous take on the original poem of the Owl and the Pussycat. There’s such gorgeous illustrations throughout and it’s such a great portrayal of a journey through wicked and wonderful lands, meeting all kinds of creatures and characters with adventures that it would be perfect for children and in classrooms alike!

IMG_4546

There’s a beautiful sense of fun throughout this story. The rhyming pattern and the rhythmic style of this make it a gorgeous story which children love to sit down and listen to. Indeed the children I read it to absolutely loved it and wanted to hear it again! They loved looking at the pictures and looking for different elements of them! There’s so many lovely little details in this book that as both the reader and the listener it was gorgeous.

IMG_4545

I can just imagine lots of teachers using this to go alongside a Pirates or Islands topic. There’s lots of references to under the sea animals, which are sure to ignite and inspire any children! It would be brilliant for older children to use as a comparison to the original poem. The pictures are so beautifully illustrated that they could easily be used in reading sessions. I would really recommend this to schools!

Thank you so much to Faye Rumble for inviting me along on the blog tour! Go check out the rest of the blog tour posts, there’s some brilliant ones already and some more to come! Thanks to Wackybee too for sending me a copy of the book to share with the children! 

S x

Go check it out at:

Amazon

Goodreads

Coral Rumblecoralpic

I have worked as a poet and performer for many years and I’m proud to have my work featured in Favourite Poets (Hodder). I have three published poetry collections of my own and have contributed to more than 150 anthologies. I am also one of the writers of the popular Cbeebies programmes ‘Poetry Pie’ and ‘The Rhyme Rocket’. I have given workshops in some fairly unusual venues as well…the grandest of which being
Buckingham Palace!

Website: http://www.coralrumble.co.uk/

Charlotte Cooke

I was thrilled and proud when my picture book The Adventures of the Ocharlottepicwl & the Pussycat was highly commended for the Macmillan Children’s Prize in 2010. Since then I have gone on to illustrate many other picture books and I enjoy making the occasional card too. When I’m not in my studio I’m usually outside running or playing referee to my two kids.

Website: http://charlottecookeillustration.blogspot.co.uk/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/charlottecooke

Check out all the brilliant blogs in the blog tour and maybe go check a few of them out! I know I will be! 

owl and pussycat banner7

Leave a Reply

