Favourite covers

A while back I was wondering about what makes a “good” cover of a book. What makes people want to pick up a book? Why do we choose certain covers over others? (I know, I know, we shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover but shush, we all do it. I am guilty of it to the highest extent. I will buy a book in its prettier cover… sue me). So I asked the lovely people on Twitter to help me out to see their responses and man did I get a good response. I posted this message:

Capture

And I got an AWFUL lot of responses. I thought I’d share some of them with you (I couldn’t share them all, you’d be here forever!)

Capture2

I need this book in my life. LOOK AT IT.

Capture5

Capture8

*heart eyes*

Capture6

Mikayla knows whats up. Good Queen Mel fan there, like me.

Some other favourites from the people. So much love. (click to make them bigger)

If you’d like to see the original tweet and all the responses then clickity, click, click. Thank you so much to everyone who did reply! 

From all of these, I think there is no answer to what makes a GOOD cover, as always it’s down to personal preference. Here are some of my faves…

pretty covers

I have read 7 of these, the other 3… I am DYING to read.

How about you? 
What makes a “good” cover to you?
What makes you want to pick up a book? 
Are you, like me, a fan of a beautiful cover on a book?

Let me know on twitter or in the comments, I’d love to see some more beautiful covers! I may do a MG version of this post too, because there are some GORGEOUS MG covers out there!

S x

