BOOKBLOG: Kristina Ohlsson

The Silver Boy: brilliant mystery, perfect for KS2 children!

IMG_4862

“But when Aladdin’s parents discover food is being stolen from their restaurant, he and his friends decide to investigate.
Soon, Aladdin notices a strange boy – dressed in short trousers, despite the freezing cold. But as hard as he tries to catch him, the boy always disappears – leaving no tracks in the fresh snow. Before long, Aladdin and his friends are pulled into a web of secrets and history, treasure and crime.
Can they uncover the mystery of the curious Silver Boy?”

The Silver Boy is a brilliant story about a young man (Aladdin – I couldn’t help but picture Disney’s Aladdin at times!) whose parents own a restuarant in a town in Sweden. Things are going missing from the restaurant and Aladdin makes it his mission, along with his friends, to figure out the culprit

There are some brilliant moments in this book. There’s some scary moments – one in particular with Aladdin in a dark room. There’s lovely friendship. There’s fearless children doing what children do… wreaking a bit of havoc in places. There’s Aladdin fighting for his parents and his friends. Brilliant little mystery. I devoured it quickly. It would be perfect for Year 4-6 kids. I think boys in particular would enjoy this book. I’m looking forward to putting this in the school library and see what my kids make of it!

I was sent this by my lovely book fairy Sarah, so thank you so much! I thoroughly enjoyed it! I’m looking forward to reading the first book that goes with this (I know, I didn’t know they were a kind of series).

img_4869.jpg

Can you recommend any other mystery books?
What are your favourite kids mystery books?

I’m always on the look out for kids lit recommendations! Let me know in the comments or on twitter (@eenalol).

S x