Favourite childhood books

There’s so many incredible MG books out there today. So many. Looking at my bookshelves there’s a brilliant mix of old and new books. Books from my childhood, books that shaped me as a reader, as the reader I am today. 

I’ve always loved reading. I can’t remember a time when I didn’t love reading. A lot of the stories I have of growing up there’s lots of books, lots of trips to the library. I hung about in the local library a lot as a kid. In fact one of my first kisses was in the little park outside a library – beat that. 

I thought I would share with you 5 books from MY childhood, that I reread even now. 

Image result for matilda cover

Matilda – Roald Dahl

One of the greatest kids stories ever. The power of stories. The power of books. As an adult I still love Matilda. 

Image result for the lion the witch and the wardrobe book cover

The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe – C.S.Lewis

Absolutely brilliant. I still recommend this to kids today. Everything about me loved Aslan. I was SO SAD. Kids being brave and fearless.

Image result for charlotte's web book cover

Charlotte’s Web – E.B.White

The first story I remember being read TO me at school. 

Image result for the secret garden book cover

The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson Burnett

I remember reading this in awe and wanting so badly to visit The Secret Garden.

Related image

The Hobbit – J.R.R.Tolkein

I read this at quite a young age and was often scared. It’s brilliance hasn’t worn off yet.

What were your favourite books as a child?
Can you remember the first book read to you?
Do you reread your favourites often?

I could be here ALL DAY recommending books to you from my childhood. I would love to know what books sit firmly in your memory. Let me know in the comments or on twitter! 

S x

2 thoughts on “Favourite childhood books

  1. Kate says:

    For me, The Famous Five defined my childhood, along with Mallory Towers, I always had one of these books on the go.
    Peace at Last, I know it’s a picture book, but I loved it, can still recite it from memory and make the twigs read it more often than they want to!
    All the Roald Dahl, particularly The Witches, it terrified me, it was the first book I stayed up late to finish, I was too scared to put it down.
    A book called Midnight Blue really sticks with me too, it was about a girl who takes a hot air balloon and ends up in an idyllic place (or paralell universe I was never sure) it was an odd book, and I was never sure if i enjoyed it, but I read it several times as a child. Perhaps I should read it as an adult!

    Well, that was a longer comment than i meant to make!

    Like

Leave a Reply

