S4S – #loveteaching

Hello!

It’s Sunday again. How? Where did that week go? Are you enjoying #SixforSunday? Have you joined me yet? What has your favourite post been so far?

This week on #SixforSunday I’m talking:

Reasons I love teaching

  1. Kids – my kids are the absolute reason I do my job.
  2. Making a difference – I may only make a difference to one child’s life in the whole time I’m teaching, but if I make a difference to one, that’s what matters.
  3. Seeing ‘the lightbulb moment’ – there’s nothing better than being in the middle of a lesson, with a child who is struggling, when suddenly something switches and they just get it. They get what you’re teaching and they light up. 
  4. Reading – be it with children or to children. Books have an incredible role to play in a child’s life and in my classroom I want books to be part of their every day lives.
  5. Building relationships – whether it is with my colleagues, the parents or the children themselves. Those relationships matter. I spend 6-8 hours a day with these people so my relationship with them is important. 
  6. Conversations with kids – sometimes they’re ridiculous, sometimes they’re important. Sometimes they are hilarious. Some filled with insights into their lives. I can guarantee every day I will laugh and be amazed at something one of my kids has said.

So there you go. Six of the reasons I love my job. There are many many more. 

Why do you love your job?
What makes you happy to get up every day and go to work?

Share your #sixforsunday using the hashtag and share your link with me too!

S x 

Leave a Reply

